Mystery Monday : And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

This is my absolute favourite Agatha Christie book. I’ve read many, and the majority are good, but nothing surpasses And Then There Were None.

I don’t want to give too much away, so briefly, eight strangers are lured to a house on an island by a mysterious person. Once there, they find their absent host is not who he seems, and via a recording claims to have knowledge of some wrongdoing the guests perpetrated in their past. One by one the guests begin to die.

It’s a fantastic whodunit. I’ve re-read it more times than I can remember. I always have to wait until I’ve forgotten most of the plot. Unfortunately, I haven’t been successful in forgetting the ending. What an ending!

It’s also been made into a number of movies, with changes to the location (island, remote ski lodge) and sometimes the solution (which I won’t spoil for you.) While good, neither of the movies I’ve seen compare to the book.

For mystery lovers, it’s a Read Me! Although you probably have already. If you shy away from mysteries, give it a try. This isn’t a run of the mill mystery. I’m confident you’ll thank me for it.

2 thoughts on “Mystery Monday : And Then There Were None

Leave a comment